• Skip to main content
  • Consular Emergency Number : +27 6630 36144
A 3-member delegation from Election Commission of India, led by Honorable Chief Election Commissioner (CEC) Shri Sushil Chandra, visited Johannesburg from 11-16 April 2022. The purpose of the visit was to have deliberations with Electoral Commission of South Africa (IEC) on the matters of mutual cooperation and interest as well as matters related to the Association of World Election Bodies (A-WEB).

CEC met H.E. Mr. Glen Mashinini, Chairperson, Independent Electoral Commission (IEC), South Africa and Mr. Jonghyun Choe, Secretary General, Association of World Election Bodies (AWEB) at Election House, Centurion. India is currently the Chair of AWEB, and South Africa is the Vice Chair. South Africa would be hosting the next General Assembly of AWEB in October 2022.

A briefing-cum-interaction was organized with prominent NRI community members at Country Club, Johannesburg. During the interaction, CEC urged the Non-Resident India (NRI) community to register as overseas voters. He also informed that the extension of Electronically Transmitted Postal Ballot System (ETPBS) facility to overseas voters is being contemplated.

On 15th April 2022, CEC paid homage to Gandhiji at the Constitution Hill ( South Africa) and also visited the Gandhi-Mandela Exhibition Centre there.